About

MyDataCan offers you affiliated apps to live a better life and puts you in control of your information. When you use regular apps or web-based services, companies collect information about you and share your information with other companies and organizations, and those companies and organizations in turn, may share your information further. You can’t know who knows what about you.

MyDataCan is a different data sharing paradigm. Apps and web-based services that are affiliated with MyDataCan put you in the center of data sharing. Apps and services affiliated with MyDataCan put a copy of your information in your own private storage on MyDataCan. You can then view your information, delete it, or share it with other apps or services.

You can also “privatize” your information on MyDataCan. The privatized option allows you to encrypt your information with a passphrase that you know but that is not stored on the MyDataCan platform. Privatized information is unreadable on the platform. You can reverse the process using your same privately held passphrase to make the information visible on the platform again.

How It Works

MyDataCan is organized by communities. Sign up for your community at mydatacan.org and establish your personal account. Select an app or service on MyDataCan and then download it from Apple iTunes or Google Play Store as normal, if needed. It’s that simple.

During the time you use an affiliated MyDataCan app or service, the app will store your personal information in your private storage on MyDataCan. The stored information is your personal copy, under your control, to use as you want. You can download it, delete it or even share it with other apps or privatize to make it unreadable on the platform. The data remains there as long as you want or this edition of MyDataCan is available.

How does MyDataCan combat COVID?

MyDataCan prioritizes apps that store location or symptom information into a person's private storage on MyDataCan and MyDataCan prioritizes communities that have human contact tracers that operate under local or state authority. MyDataCan also provides a special contact tracing option, that if you decide to select it, allows the last 14 days of your location data and symptom information to be shared with your community human contact tracer, accessed only on a just-in-time, need-to-know basis, relevant to a specific known positive case of COVID-19. If you decide to opt into the contact tracing option, each time a human contact tracer access your information, an entry is logged and stored in your private storage on MyDataCan.

During an interview with a person who tested positive who was in proximate contact to you, the human contact tracer will determine whether you may have been infected and need to take precautions. If so, your community human contact tracer will notify you, and you can specify the best means for communication with a human contact tracer when you select the contact tracing option. You can stop making your data available to contact tracing at anytime by deselecting the contact tracing option. Participation in contact tracing is optional and anyone can use any of the apps or services on MyDataCan without sharing any information with contact tracers. No information forwards to contact tracing without your explicit opt-in for contact tracing.